Commission Membership List

Historic Preservation Commission Membership List

The Lee’s Summit Historic Preservation Commission currently has seven regular members and one liaison member of the City Council and one liaison member of the Planning Commission. The City’s Planning and Codes Administration Department provides staff support to the Commission. Currently there is one vacancy to be filled.

Kathy Smith Chairperson

Joseph Towns Vice-Chairperson

Gary Keshner

Dan Shepard

Martin Owens


Amberlynn Isaacs

Herman Watson

Shannon McGuire, City Staff Liaison to the Historic Preservation Commission
Development Services
(816) 969-1237

Commission membership experience and responsibilities

The commissioners shall be residents of the City of Lee’s Summit and shall be persons who have demonstrated special interest, knowledge, or experience in fields related to historic preservation, be an architect who has professional experience in restoration or historic preservation, be a real-estate professional, be a member of the Lee’s Summit Historical Society, be a homeowner in a historic district or proposed historic district, and be a merchant in an existing commercial historic district or proposed commercial historic district.

The Commission is responsible for establishing, developing, and implementing the City Historic Preservation Plan. The Commission reviews and recommends City Historic Landmark and Historic Overlay District designations to the Lee’s Summit Local Historic Register. The Commission recommends approval of historic surveys, and approves Certificates of Appropriateness. The Commission also may review amendments, modifications, or revisions of the City’s Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) or other parts of the Code of Ordinances as they relate to Historic Preservation.

Interested in becoming a member of the Historic Preservation Commission when there is a vacancy?  Please fill out and submit to the City of Lee’s Summit an Interest Form.